In our quest to create awareness in ensuring voluntary compliance amongst business players, the Companies Commission of Malaysia Training Academy or now known as COMTRAC was officially established on 1 April 2007. It is a full-fledged division responsible for the training programmes for company directors, company officers, professionals, the business community and members of the public on aspects of corporate law. In addition, COMTRAC is also responsible for enhancing SSM employee capabilities and capacity.

The Companies Commission of Malaysia Training Academy consists of four sections. They are Corporate Development, Center for International Programme, Administration and Resource Center and Staff Development. The above four sections are supported by the following schools to plan, develop and conduct training programmes in the related area of specialization:

  • School of Business & Corporate Law;
  • School of Civil, Prosecution & Investigation;
  • School of Corporate Finance; and
  • School of Staff Development.

COMTRAC is guided by an advisory panel, established by the Commission under subsection 19(1)(2) of the Companies Commission Act 2001 (Act 614) and comprised of the following members:

  • Wong Wing Seong (Chairman)
  • Datuk Idris Abdullah
  • Datuk Ali Abdul Kadir
  • Datuk Dr Zainal Aznam Mohd Yusof
  • Datuk Dr Abdul Samad Hj Alias
  • Tee Geok Hock
  • Dato' Dr Aishah Bidin
  • Datuk Abdul Karim Abdul Jalil (ex-officio capacity)